Early Years
Early Years Foundation Stage

There are several years’ curriculums recognised by our licensing authority, the Abu Dhabi Education Council.

We are a British curriculum  school following  the National Curriculum for England for students in Year 1 and beyond. Our FS1 and FS2 (ages 3 to 5) follow the Early Years Foundation Stage , using ‘Development Matters’ to ensure that children are progressing holistically to reach the 17 ‘Early Learning Goals’. Alongside this, our early learners have Arabic once a day, Islamic once a week, they study Music and ICT, they have twice weekly lessons  with specialist teachers for PE.

The Core Principles of Early Years Education

There are four guiding principles that shape practice in early years’ settings:

Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers;

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

The Areas of Learning:  Prime Areas

Communication and Language – this involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Development – this involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development – this involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

The Areas of Learning: Specific Areas

Literacy – this involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

Mathematics – this involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the World – this involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design – this involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

You can read more about the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum online.